Another upset…

by

Well, I decided delay my post until tonight to gain a little perspective. Last week I was crying for joy that Kristy Lee had finally parted ways with Idol. This week, I’m a little confused.

Last night was one of the most interesting nights I can remember. Songs from Andrew Lloyd Webber are not what I think of when I think about American Idol, yet I was excited because it’s always nice to switch things up.

Syesha surprised me with a really entertaining performance. I haven’t fully appreciated her voice, or her personality. I can say that after her time is over on Idol, she will certainly have a career on Broadway. I hate to say this…but I…liked her this week.

Jason Castro gets the award for most awkward song choice and performance of all time (Oh wait..that goes to Brooke!) I don’t think he understood what kind of song he was singing. “Memory” is a song that I was almost certain David Archuleta would pick. I was SO surprised that he wasn’t in the bottom two. This proves to me that this show is becoming a popularity contest after all. Speaking of David, he did a great job singing a girls’ song. There is no doubt in my mind that he will be in the top two.

Poor Brooke. I felt sorry for her, but even after the mishap she didn’t sing the song very well. To be honest, I didn’t think she could sing it even under the best of circumstances. Brooke is really sweet, and obviously has a huge fan base, but she hasn’t stood out in a long time.

Carly…I’m extremely sad to see her go, especially when she had a great performance and Brooke and Jason have been having average ones. I don’t feel like she deserved to go. I’m not sure what happened this week. My only explanation is that Brooke and Jason have won over America’s hearts instead of their ears.

Lastly..David Cook wowed us again. I have seen Phantom on Broadway, and I swear that he sounded better than the guy singing in the show. I think he’s going to be the next Idol. There’s no doubt he’s the most talented person on the show, with little David being a close second.

So…I hope that next week goes better. I’d like to dedicate this post to Michael Johns and Carly Smithson…Idols gone too soon. Until then!

Leave a Reply

