Definitely the guy’s night…

by

Well, most everyone would agree that Michael Johns’ departure last week was surprising. Nobody was more surprised than I was. Here is my theory…Michael Johns has never been in the bottom three, and he has constantly been a front-runner this season. People who vote recognize this and decide that he’s safe, so they’ll give their votes to someone like Jason Castro who may need the votes. And so…Michael Johns goes home.

It honestly wasn’t the same for me tonight without him there, but his career is far from over. My predictions have been terribly off lately, so hopefully they will be right this time. Mariah Carey mentored the contestants, and I was a little uneasy about her songs being performed. However, there were no major mishaps except for Kristy Lee Cook.

As for tonight, the guys dominated the show. David Archuleta started off with a really beautiful performance. I think he’s going to be in the top two, yet I regret typing that because Michael was also one of my picks. There is no denying that he’s a wonderful singer and performer, and isn’t that what this competition is about?

David Cook is by far the most original contestant. Every week I look forward to seeing his performances because he tries to make everything his own, which is more than can be said for most of the remaining contestants. He chose an extremely well known pop song and transformed it into his own awesome version. Loved it!

I thought Carly did better than what the judges gave her credit for. She is no longer their favorite, and I think her time is dwindling down. Maybe last week I wouldn’t have said she’d go home, but I wouldn’t be surprised. Brooke White gave us a blah and (according to Simon) rather “meatless” performance. Yes, she did the best she could do, but is her best good enough?

Ok, at this point there is nothing that Kristy Lee could do to make her like her unless she developed a cure for cancer or gave me a lot of cash. I am not saying that she can’t sing, but I get absolutely nothing out of her performances. The thought of watching another one of her performances absolutely pains me.

Syesha would be the only other person who I would like to see go. She gave us, once again, another uninspired performance. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great either. And, at this point in the competition, how many so-so performances will she be allowed to get by with before America gets it right?

Lastly, Jason Castro ended the evening with an interesting arrangement. I wasn’t overly impressed, but I thought he did a good job. I still like Jason, and I hope he sticks around another week.

So, tonight I will keep my bottom three predictions to myself, and maybe I’ll be right for once. Until then!

Leave a comment